The Church of our Savior on Spilled Blood was built between 1883 and 1907 on the site where Tsar Alexander II was assasinated. The tragic event took place on 13 March 1881 when the Tsar had survived an explosion after a bomb was thrown at his carriage, but died after a second bomb was thrown as he got out of the carriage.
During Communist rule following the Russian Revolution, the church was badly damaged. Many of the mosaics were affected as the Church was used as a storage barn for potatoes until restoration work began in 1970 following the church's redesignation as a museum.
Interestingly enough, this church is not and never has been a functioning religious establishment. Its original intention as a shrine never encorporated the church to be used for services and it has never been consecrated.
The interior of the church is covered by an awe-inspiring mosaic. Every part of the church from the floor to the walls and ceilings is covered by some 7,500 square metres of mosaic designs - more than any other church in the world.
January 1st to April 30th
May 1st to September 30th
October 1st to December 31st
Entry to Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood
Evening openings of the Cathedral in the summer only
2, Naberezhnaya Kanala Griboedova