La Pedrera is a much more common name for this house today than the original of Casa Milà. The house was initially named after the couple for whom it was built comprising of Roser Segimon - a wealthy widow of a South American colonist - and an extravert developer Pere Milà.
As with most of Gaudi's work, opinion was strongly divided and many parts of his initial design were either not followed or cancelled. Nonetheless, despite repeated fines for exceeding Barcelona's building height restrictions and constantly ignoring building codes and regulations with regard to the design, the building was completed in 1912 after a 7-year construction period.
A key part of the building's design is the ignorance of all accepted wisdoms in the construction of houses of flats. Almost all of the lines both internally and externally are rounded and none are straight making the structure look both free & elegant and stark and bone-like. The flats are designed with minimal privacy as almost all rooms serve as walkways to other rooms and elevators only stop at every other floor to ensure residents get to know each other on their way up and down.
Much of the building was in a state of disrepair until the eighties but an extensive renovation programme returned many of the bright colours and decorations to their previous glory as the building was declared a UNESCO World Heritage sight. Today's Casa Milà is decorated in the style of the early 20th century to give the visitors a vibe of what living in the house would be like for its first residents.
Throughout the Year
Entry to Casa Milla
Casa Milà (La Pedrera)
Passeig de Gràcia 92