Part of the convent which was founded in 853 AD, the Fraumünster church itself was built in 1250. The large convent was central to the local area's growth over time as the nuns gained rights to run their own mint, market and charge local tolls. The Holy Roman Empire even granted the convent the status of Imperial Immediacy giving it autonomy and protection.
All buildings in the convent bar the church were destroyed in 1898 as the convent was long disused after middle age reformation. The church became more popular as the city of Zürich grew and in 1970 its choir end was refreshed with 5 stained glass windows designed by Marc Chagall installed. These striking bright windows have made the church a popular destination for tourists in recent years.
January 1st to February 28th
November 1st to December 31st
March 1st to October 31st
Münsterhof 2 8001 Zürich